Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and the WHO Global targets 2025


Millennium Development Goals (MDGs):

Goal 1: Eradicate Extreme Hunger and Poverty

Goal 2: Achieve Universal Primary Education

Goal 3: Promote Gender Equality and Empower Women

Goal 4: Reduce Child Mortality

Goal 5: Improve Maternal Health

Goal 6: Combat HIV/AIDS, Malaria and other diseases

Goal 7: Ensure Environmental Sustainability

Goal 8: Develop a Global Partnership for Development

Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

For the United Nations General Assembly Open Working Group (OWG)’s sessions on Sustainable development goals (SDGs) and drafts of the past nine sessions, click here.

World Health Organization (WHO) Global Targets 2025

1. 40% reduction in the number of children under-5 who are stunted

2. 50% reduction of anaemia in women reproductive age

3. 30% reduction in low birth weight

4. no increase childhood overweight

5. increase the rate of exclusive breastfeeding in the first 6 months up to at least 50%

6. reduce and maintain childhood wasting to less than 5%

To read more about the WHO Global health targets 2025, click here.